Spectral Electric

City Gallery Wellington, Wellington

Music from the frontiers of sound & technology

The works on this programme share a fascination with the materiality of sound, by revealing its inner structures in a series of meditative dronescapes that will fill the resonant spaces of City Gallery Wellington. Composers such as Kaija Saariaho, Salvatore Sciarrino, Luigi Ceccarelli and Annea Lockwood all provide deep and enveloping listening experiences.

Also featured is the world premiere of a new concerto for throatsinger, ensemble and live electronics by Michael Norris, with soloist Wellington-based throatsinger and improviser, Jonny Marks.


Mark Carter (conductor)

Jonny Marks (throat-singing)

Ed Allen (prepared horn)


Kaija Saariaho Cendres for alto flute, cello and piano

Salvatore Sciarrino Fauno che fischia a un Merlo for flute and harp

Annea Lockwood Immersion for 3 percussion

Luigi Ceccarelli Respiri for prepared horn and electronics

Kaija Saariaho Ciel Étoilé for double bass and percussion

Michael Norris Sygyt for ensemble, throat-singer, and electronics

Spectral Electric


Stroma New Music Ensemble
c/- Michael Norris
New Zealand School of Music
PO Box 600
Wellington 6021
New Zealand

+64 21 211 0138
Facebook: www.facebook.com/stromanewmusicensemble

Stroma New Music Trust is a registered charity, number CC48768.
© Stroma 2019 | Stroma is not responsible for the content of external internet sites