Iconic Sonics

City Gallery Wellington, Wellington

The revolution is here! Prepare yourself for big works and bold sounds from some of the most iconic ‘sonic revolutionists’ of the twentieth century — Witold Lutoslawski, György Ligeti, Kaija Saariaho and Iannis Xenakis. The next generation is represented by a world premiere from leading young New Zealand composer Reuben Jelleyman. Iconic Sonics will be held in the beautiful gallery spaces of City Galley Wellington, surrounded by images from their 'Iconography of Revolt' exhibition.


Hamish McKeich (conductor)


György Ligeti (HUN) • Ramifications for 12 solo strings

Kaija Saariaho (FIN) • New Gates for flute, viola and harp

Iannis Xenakis (GR) • Aroura for 12 solo strings

Reuben Jelleyman (NZ) • Designs for chamber ensemble (world premiere)

Witold Lutoslawski (POL) • Chain I for large ensemble

Iconic Sonics